What is Art?


Is everything art? I ask the question in a week where an average of 30 people walk out of each performance of Marat / Sade at the RSC. I found We Need ToTalk About Kevin disturbing and uncomfortable. In both cases I think the performances will be fabulous – Tilda Swinton must be an Oscar possible – but I wonder whether this is the same degrading effect as violent video gaming. I came out of the cinema and just wanted to hug my daughters as a result of a fiction. The same reaction as a documentary about the Holocaust would have. I have now no desire to read the book and the DVD will stay in the shop. Surely art is more than a reaction?

About justaukcook

/kʊk/ Not a chef, not an epicure, not a foodie. Just one who likes to prepare food – What really happens in the kitchen and on the high street is what I write about. Follow me on Twitter @Justaukcook and on https://www.facebook.com/justaukcook
This entry was posted in Film and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.