My Desert Island Discs


So imagine Kirsty Young approaches me with my new-found fame and invites me on the show. What would I choose and why would I choose them?

Records

1. Hello – Lionel Richie. OK its just our song – rubbish and It would be good if we had something cooler but there it is.

2. Sabbath Bloody Sabbath – Black Sabbath. My motivator – got me through tons of exams – play it loud first thing in a morning and you’re ready to face the day.

3. Down in the tube station at midnight – The Jam – the song of my formative teen years. Would instantly take me back to some great nights out.

4. Rude Mood/Hideaway medley by Stevie Ray Vaughan. The coolest guitar player there ever was and someone I’d love to be able to play like.

5. Flake – Jack Johnson (preferably a live version). Not sure if this is a guilty pleasure or not. Just a great song and clever lyrics.

6. Superstition – Stevie Wonder. Just a disco classic and reminds me of some more fun nights out

7. The River – Bruce Springsteen. Great song to just sing along to “then I got Mary pregnant and, man, that was all she wrote…” in the worst Springsteen impression.

8. Little Wing – Aynsley Lister. Currently my favourite version but there are few bad ones of a great song. Shame about the mad lyrics.

Of these the one I’d take with me would be Sabbath Bloody Sabbath as a motivator to build rafts and find a way home but I’d soon be bored of hearing them all anyway. I’d soon be dependent on my….

Book – I’ve got the bible and Shakespeare for sheer volume of words to keep me going so I can afford some pleasure here so it would be A History Of The World In Ten and A Half Chapters by Julian Barnes. There’s so much in it to find each time you reread it and can be read in small chunks.

Luxury. Was a toss up between a guitar and paper and paints but decided the art materials would keep me going longer. Ever get the impression boredom would be my biggest enemy?

About justaukcook

/kʊk/ Not a chef, not an epicure, not a foodie. Just one who likes to prepare food – What really happens in the kitchen and on the high street is what I write about. Follow me on Twitter @Justaukcook and on https://www.facebook.com/justaukcook
This entry was posted in Lists, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.