Great blog – love the idea

Brilliant Britain

“I don’t think it’s my thing, bit too blokey for us”

“hope my dad doesn’t get killed in #shrovetide football”

“Am I taking part? Do you think I’m mental?”

Oh dear, what have I got myself into.

Every year on Shrove Tuesday, while the rest of Britain are emptying their cupboards and making pancakes, the town in Ashbourne in Derbyshire get together to play football. But it’s no ordinary game of football.

shrovetide 3This game takes place across the whole town. The goals are three miles apart and players from north of the river (up-ards) take on players from south of the river (down-ards).  I needed to check it out.

No-one wanted to go with me, not afraid of an adventure, I went on my own. I felt a little bit ominous when I was surrounded by people necking back Carling at 11am. If I wasn’t on my own, I’d probably…

View original post 588 more words

About justaukcook

/kʊk/ Not a chef, not an epicure, not a foodie. Just one who likes to prepare food – What really happens in the kitchen and on the high street is what I write about. Follow me on Twitter @Justaukcook and on https://www.facebook.com/justaukcook
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

